#BookTour: The House on Sunset, #Memoir #WomensFiction by @LinsFischer


The House on Sunset TourTitle- The House on Sunset

By-  Lindsay Fischer

Genre- Memoir/Women’s Fiction

The House on SunsetBlurb-

Lindsay Fischer was once a high school English teacher with dreams stretching far outside the classroom. When her boyfriend of a year-and-a-half cheated on her, Lindsay found herself alone, looking online for a replacement. His name was Mike.

That’s where the nightmare started.

The House on Sunset is a memoir, a collection of reminiscences, scattering the ashes of two broken homes and putting them to rest. Each chapter offers a different glimpse inside the cycle of intimate partner violence, where honeymoon phases and traumas coexist.

Everyone could fall victim to abusers. This book bravely displays the reasons a quirky, twenty-something teacher would, and did.

Links-

Amazon- http://www.amazon.com/House-Sunset-Lindsay-Fischer-ebook/dp/B012EMBZ5A/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1437854665&sr=8-4&keywords=THe+House+on+Sunset

Barnes & Noble- http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-house-on-sunset-lindsay-fischer/1122379843?ean=2940150795655

GUEST POST: How does music affect your writing process?

Even before authorship, music was a part of my writing ritual. I remember listening to John Mayer’s album Heavier Things while writing literary analysis in college. Chocolate milk and “Come Back to Bed” on tap. The background noise did for me then what it still does now:

Music fuels the energy I put into my work.

While writing The House on Sunset there were feelings I needed to pull out that were no longer a part of my everyday life. Gone were the regular bouts with PTSD, my love for my abuser washed off after years of trauma therapy and personal healing. Yet, to write a memoir explaining the dynamics of intimate partner violence, I needed to find and pull out the darkest (and most joyous) bits of my past.

Music helped me do that.

There were days when I needed to feel the fire that burned inside of me, seeking the retribution I once wished to come. “Gunpowder and Lead” by Miranda Lambert and “Goodbye Earl,” by the Dixie Chicks were two go-tos. Cheesy? Maybe. But when a person has been through such violence, it’s likely they will harbor hostile feelings toward the hands (and person) who hurt them. Actually, it’s part of the healing process (but that’s another post entirely).

Music played the biggest role in my writing while remembering the love I once had for the monster who tried to kill me. I’d play “our songs” and re-read email messages we sent while he was grooming me for the future.

But it also served, in some small way, as a form of EMDR therapy: a way to heal while writing because the noise allowed me to revisit memories without being pulled back into them. With one foot firmly planted in the present, I could remind myself I was safe (yes, music really did that for me).

The genre you choose might be different than mine, but there’s something magical about being taken to another place while you’re simultaneously transporting readers.

Creativity. Craft. Unconscious meanderings slowly taking shape.

Music brings with it a brilliance I’m thankful to experience. It can bring with it pain or pleasure and – as a tool in my writing career – it’s helped me navigate and dive into emotions I didn’t think I could find again.

What a beautiful gift.

Lindsay FischerAbout  the Author-

Lindsay Fischer graduated from Missouri State University with a Bachelor of Science in secondary education, English. An avid reader and learner, Lindsay took her passion for words into a classroom before starting a writing career. Life pulled her from the classroom, providing an opportunity to use her voice against domestic violence, blogging under the pseudonym, Sarafina Bianco, since 2009. You can find her words at survivorswillbeheard.com and speak directly to her when she hosts #domesticviolencechat on Twitter. Lindsay hopes to be an advocate for women, men and children who still live inside the nightmare of their abuse. She currently lives with her husband and three dogs, including Watson, in St. Louis, Missouri.

Links-

Facebook: www.facebook.com/survivorswillbeheard

Twitter: @LinsFischer

Author Site: survivorswillbeheard.com

Instagram: @lindsaycapo

Write something awesome!

