#BookTour: Twin Powers, by David Pereda @DavidPeredaAVL #mystery #romance


Twin Powers
By- David Pereda
Genre- Mystery/Suspense/Romance
Expected Publication Date- Feb 28th, 2015
Published By- Second Wind Publishing

While vacationing with her mother in Havana, a 10-year old American girl is taken by members of a child sex ring intent on selling her into forced prostitution. The abductors, believed to be Arabs, leave a note for the baffled mother stating that Stephanie’s kidnapping is an act of revenge. When the human traffickers avoid capture and manage to flee the island, the father of the girl, surgeon Raymond Peters, decides to take matters into his own hands and initiates a worldwide investigation. To support his efforts, the Cuban government, angered by their inability to apprehend the kidnappers, assigns Marcela, a lethal professional assassin, to help Raymond track down the culprits. The search for Stephanie takes the unlikely pair – a man who has sworn an oath to save lives and a woman who kills for a living — to the Middle East in the hunt for the mysterious mastermind, Mohamed. As Raymond and Marcela overcome one life-threatening obstacle after another in their quest to find and rescue Stephanie, they uncover an incredible worldwide conspiracy undermining the highest political levels of the government of the United States. Working against the clock, Raymond and Marcela must pull out all stops to save Stephanie, flee Dubai, and expose the complot before Mohamed and his gang of thugs kill them.
 

How did you get started?

I guess I always wanted to be a writer.  I wrote my first novel, a western, when I was ten years old. My proud uncle Antonio typed it for me. I titled it bombastically, Dave Patterson, The Temerarious. After that I wrote a few short stories that I never published, or even tried to, until I got to college.

Do you have a book recently released?

Yes, it’s a thriller called Twin Powers, published by Second Wind Publishing. Twin Powers is a deviation from my earlier books in that two of the main characters are 10-year old twin girls, one of which gets kidnapped by members of a child sex ring intent on selling her into forced prostitution. When the Arab human traffickers avoid capture, the father of the girl, Dr. Raymond Peters, and a lethal professional assassin named Marcela team up to investigate. The search for the girl takes the unlikely pair – a man who has sworn to save lives and a woman who kills for a living – to the Middle East in the hunt for the mysterious mastermind, Mohamed. Working against the clock, Raymond and Marcela must pull out all stops to save the girl and flee Dubai before Mohamed and his band of thugs kill them.

Sounds like an exciting read. What authors have influenced your writing style?

So many authors have influenced my style that I don’t know where to begin. Hemingway, Conrad, Shakespeare, all the Russian writers, especially Dostoyevsky and Chekov, were great influences in my life. When I was a kid I read everything written by Max Brand and Zane Grey. During recent years, the greatest influence on my writing has probably been Harlan Coben. Someone once wrote a review of one of my books and called me the Latino Harlan Coben. I was very proud of the comparison since I consider Harlan Coben the best thriller writer today, but the Latino reference left me a little cold. I don’t want to be the Latino anything. I want my writing to be recognized as that of David Pereda, without a qualifying adjective in front of my name.

About the Author-
I am an author and college instructor living in Asheville NC. My latest novel, Twin Powers, published by Second Wind Publishing, is the third installment of my popular Havana Series of thrillers featuring the handsome and peripatetic Doctor Raymond Peters and the beautiful and lethal Cuban assassin Marcela. This is what acclaimed author P.M. Terrell had to say about the book: “Pereda expertly weaves a web that becomes more intricate and mesmerizing with each suspenseful step, keeping the reader on the edge of their seat. The twists and turns are enough to keep you guessing and yet everything comes together seamlessly in a series of heart-pounding climaxes.”
My last romantic suspense novel, However Long the Night, published in 2012, won three awards. My previous novels include the thrillers, Killing Castro, also a winner of three awards, published in 2010, and Top Secret, published in 2009. Together with my daughter Sophia, I am now hard at work on a Young Adult novel titled Freaking Fast, with estimated publication in 2016.
A member of MENSA, I am the ex-regional director of Florida Writers Association’s Western North Carolina division and the founder of AWE (Asheville Writing Enthusiasts). I love sports and have competed for years in track and show-jumping equestrian events. Currently, I teach math and English at the Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College.
 
Links-
 
 

Write something awesome!

