#BookTour and #Giveaway: Victim Souls, by Andrew Terech @andrewterech


VictimSoulsTourBannerVictim Souls by Andrew Terech 
Publication date: November 8th 2014 
Genres: Horror, Young Adult
VSSynopsis:

Sometimes, only bad guys can beat the Devil…

The plan is simple: get the money and deliver the car. What could possibly go wrong?

What can’t?

Things start to go south when Sam Drake realizes that his brother Johnny is hiding something, a secret about Sam’s troubled childhood that goes beyond his most feverish nightmares…

Then Johnny’s girlfriend, Ash, starts sending Sam the kind of mixed signals that can only lead to big trouble…

As the trio of small time crooks falls deeper into an abyss of betrayal and violence, they will discover that the greatest danger they face is not of this world.

With everything he believes about himself and the world around him shattered, Sam will become the unlikely champion in a battle with true evil, a fight to save a soul that has already been forfeited to darkness.

His own.

Purchase:

EXCERPT

I noticed a crack in the side view mirror. I faked a cough, leaned out further and jammed my elbow into the fractured glass. Riley didn’t react. I grabbed a small shard, cupped it in my hand, feeling the sharp edge cut into my palm. Pulling my head back into the car, I slipped the weapon into my pocket. A little insurance policy in case Riley turned on me. I still didn’t completely buy the idea that he’d changed his mind about killing me. As soon as he had that amulet he’d have no use for me anymore. For all I knew, I was his human sacrifice—nothing more than a ticket out of here.

“We almost there?” I asked.

I don’t think he heard me over the repetitive, computer-generated banging that blared from the radio. It sounded like a robot fucking a blender. Riley bounced his head to the beat. “What’s that?” he yelled over the piercing noise.

“Nothing!”

Riley nodded.

The car slowed again. Riley drove onto a dirt road that carved through the towering trees. Ezekiel made strange, high-pitched noises in the back. I checked on him again. He was smiling, rocking even faster and clapping his hands. His serpent tongue slipped out from his bloody mouth.

Despite the many low hanging branches, I took my chances and leaned my head back out the window. I figured it was worth the risk—anything was better than the sensory abuse inside that car.

We sped along the slender path. I couldn’t see much further than twenty feet ahead. I caught another glimpse of something moving behind the trees. This time it was small, about the size of a child.

An explosion like a gunshot pierced my eardrums. I retreated into the car with my hands over my ears. “What the fuck was that?”

The car swerved. Riley wrestled the wheel with both hands. “Holy shit!”

We skidded sideways to a dead stop.

Slowly, I sat up in my seat and lowered my hands. Riley pointed at me. “Window. Window. Closing the fucking window, now!”

I spun the handle, rolling the window up as fast as I could. “What happened?”

“Flat. And it isn’t just our shitty luck.”

Ezekiel sat still, chewing on his fingertips, his eyes darting from side-to-side. An impenetrable darkness surrounded us. The thick woods on both sides only worsened the conditions. If it weren’t for the lights on the Jeep, we’d be struggling to see each other’s faces.

Riley turned off the radio.

I could hear the trees swaying in the wind and a mix of shrill chirping and low croaking sounds, like a cricket screwing a toad.

Riley ran his hands through his hair several times as he surveyed our surroundings.

“What is it?” I asked.

Riley stared at me. His normal arrogant expression was taut with fear. “We’re gonna have to run.”

“I thought you said to never be on foot in this place?”

“Yeah. I say a lot of things.” He lifted his sweatshirt, grabbed the pearl handle of a .44 magnum revolver, and handed it to me. “It’s loaded.”

I snatched the gun from him. “You were holdin’ out.”

“Didn’t know if I could trust you.”

“And now you do?”

He looked around, his head on a swivel. “Not in the slightest. But I’d rather get shot in the head, than be eaten alive.”

“You’re really not filling me with confidence right now.”

“Good. ’Cause I meant to scare the shit out of you.”

A four-foot, humanoid shadow blocked out the headlights as it darted across the road.

“What was that?” I asked.

Riley wiped his hand over his face. “A very, very bad sign.”

AndrewAUTHOR BIO
Andrew’s a horror fiction writer who is also a massive fan of the genre. He’s been writing short stories and working on his novel for over 5 years. He has several short stories published, as well as some editing credits. He moderates a writing workshop in Phoenix, AZ where he’s been exposed to many different forms of fiction, which have broadened his influences. He aims to write stories that creep out his readers, while offering well-developed, rich characters they can sink their teeth into. He’s also a fan of experimenting with form and structure to create something uniquely my own.

Andrew grew up on Long Island in New York, and has lived in Arizona for the past 7 years. His professional background is in psychology where he’s carved out a nice career for himself. However, writing has always been his passion.

Currently, he’s hard at work, developing additional content to publish. He hopes to find an audience that loves the genre, and is up for a good scare.

Author links:
Giveaway:
Tour-wide giveaway (INTL)
–5 signed copies of the Special Edition of Victim Souls that contains the short story that inspired the novel.

Write something awesome!

