#BookTour and #Giveaway: The Soul Thief, by Majanka Verstraete @iheartreads


The Soul Thief
The Angel of Death Series # 1
By- Majanka Verstraete
Genre- YA Paranormal
Published By- Booktrope Publishing
Published On- November 11, 2014

When sixteen-year-old Riley is injured in a car crash and sees a girl stealing a boy’s soul, she’s convinced she’s hallucinating. But when she sees the same girl at the hospital later, she knows she wasn’t dreaming. That’s when Riley learns her secret heritage and who she really is: a halfling Angel of Death.
 
Riley must come to terms with her new reality and supernatural abilities, but before she can do this, girls her age start dying in mysterious circumstances. It’s up to Riley to figure out why, what the innocent victims have in common, and what she can do to stop them.
 
   

Please tell us about yourself using 3 verbs, 1 quirk and a pop culture addiction

I’m twenty-four years old, I live in Belgium. I have a Master of Law degree, and am now studying for a Master of Criminology degree. I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. My debut was published in 2013. I write speculative fiction for children and young adults. When I’m not writing, I’m probably reading, horror being my favorite genre. I also help out other authors by critiquing or beta-reading, and publicity. I’m addicted to tons of TV series, Game of Thrones being my absolute favorite. One of my quirks is that I tend to write best while traveling by train, probably because lack of distractions there.

Top 5 Favorite Things

  1. Watching a TV series first thing in the morning after breakfast. It’s my wake up routine.
  2. Writing down “THE END” when I finish typing up a manuscript.
  3. Reaching all my daily goals – I write down at least ten goals every day. I don’t make it on all days, but when I do, it feels great.
  4. Traveling and exploring the world, especially places tourists aren’t so familiar with
  5. Watching documentaries or true crime series, and reading true crime

What are your thoughts on book covers- in your opinion do they make or break a book?

Book covers are really important. I spent a lot of time with my cover designer to come up with a cover for “The Soul Thief”, and I think the end result is great. I do the same thing with my other books, and so far I’ve been lucky my publishers allowed me to work closely with my cover designers so we end up with covers I like, and that – at least in my opinion – look professional. If a book has a horrible, unprofessional cover, I won’t buy it, so I don’t want people to think the same thing of my books.

How do you come up with character names?  How do you come up with novel titles?

The names kind of pop into my mind, especially for the main characters. Some names just click, others don’t. Like for “The Soul Thief”, I came up with the plot first, and then had a dream about it, and the protagonist’s name popped up: Riley. I just knew the name fit for her. From that point, I came up with the names for the other characters. If a name doesn’t suit the character completely, I usually find out after a chapter or two. Then I can’t write anymore until I find a fitting name.

As for novel titles, those are tough! For “The Soul Thief”, the title was rather easy, but for some of my other books, coming up with a title was the hardest part. Sometimes it just pops into my mind, but other times, I have zero inspiration.

This or That-

*Winchesters or Salvatores?

What a difficult question! Can I pick Dean Winchester and Damon Salvatore? I think those two would make an amazing team.

*Morning or Night?

Night, definitely.

*Summer or Winter?

Summer!

About the Author-
Majanka Verstraete begged her Mom to teach her how to read while she was still in kindergarten. By the time she finished fifth grade, she had read through the entire children’s section of her hometown library.
 
She wrote her first story when she was seven years old, and hasn’t stopped writing since. With an imagination that never sleeps, and hundreds of possible book characters screaming for her attention, writing is more than a passion for her.
 
She writes about all things supernatural for children of all ages. She’s tried to write contemporary novels before, but something paranormal always manages to crawl in.
 
Majanka is currently studying for her Master of Laws degree, and hopes one day to be able to combine her passions for law and writing. When she’s not writing, reading or studying, she likes watching “The Vampire Diaries” and “Game of Thrones,” spending time with her friends, or playing “World of Warcraft.”
 
Links-
 

Write something awesome!

