#BookTour and #Giveaway: Before He Was a Secret, by Becky Wicks @bex_wicks


BeforeHeWasASecretTourBanner
Before He Was A Secret by Becky Wicks 
(Starstruck #3 – can be read as a stand-alone)
Publication date: Feb 24 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance
SecretSynopsis:

Another standalone Starstruck romance from the HarperCollins author who brought you Amazon #1 bestseller Before He Was Famous and Before He Was Gone

“What if we can’t choose
Every battle we win and lose
What if we decided years before, to live this life, to fight these wars
And all the dreams we ever thought were ours
Were written in the stars”

Waiting tables isn’t exactly what singer/songwriter Stephanie has in mind for her move to Nashville, but memories of the past and a case of writer’s block mean inspiration isn’t coming easy. When brooding pianist Conor Judge opens his mouth in a smoky bar he proves music can heal, and even help you re-write your story, but a history of his own means the one thing he starts to want most is always just out of reach. Stephanie.

Enter Travis Flynn – an upcoming star who won’t take no for an answer, and a record label intent on helping Stephanie shine, without Conor. As fame comes knocking as hard as the ghosts of their pasts, it soon becomes clear that no matter how hard you might fall in love, having the perfect songs doesn’t always mean perfect harmony.

Purchase:
breakhearts_FBBlog

Excerpt From: Becky Wicks. “Before He Was A Secret.” March 09, 2014. Amazon.com

I say all but a sentence before launching into my own song. One I wrote the other week. One that now, in a room full of people feels as raw as when Grace walked out for the millionth time and the lyrics flew into my head. Everyone’s quiet now. The girl with the big blue eyes is watching me intently.

Our world is a battlefield

Where we both use words to harm

Two sides, no one knows who’s right

But we both wear equal scars

Disgraced 

Look at what takes place

When our dreams and schemes collide

At first light, pull your armour tight

Cos there’s nowhere left to hide

Our love was a shelter

Now it’s the bomb that starts the war

Maybe we could warn the innocents in our path

If we could stop to ask

What all this fighting is for

Swan dive into all our lies

Swimming hard against our hearts

Hanging on, while it feels so wrong

Letting go’s the hardest part

Our love was a shelter

Now it’s the bomb that starts the war

Maybe we could warn the innocents in our path

If we could stop to ask

What all this fighting is for…

I’m vaguely aware of the lump in my throat that I have to ignore. I sing right over it like I always do, working through the emotions with the words and when I wrap up Battlefield and introduce another new one, it’s not just Candice who whoops at the back of the room. The blond, now with Tal back by her side is clapping furiously. I meet her blue eyes and something in my stomach jolts as I realize they’re watering. Is she crying? 

‘Well, thank you so much,’ I say into the mic, putting the guitar on the stand and moving the stool over to the keyboard. ‘Good to see some new faces here tonight.’ She swipes at her face again. She’s beautiful.

I force my eyes away, sit down. ‘You’ll have to go easy on me, guys. I’m giving you the new stuff tonight. This one’s called Time.’ I put my fingers to the keys, take a breath, settle into the padding of the stool and start to play. Candice squeals. The melody soars through the speakers as our eternal battle sounds out yet again around the room; this time to a different tune, faster, only just, but just as hard. Just as therapeutic.  

My shirt was too big 

And the sleeves fell over your fingers

But you wrapped yourself tightly inside

Making sure your scent lingered

The moment I asked for it back was the moment you’d dance right out of my hands

And you’d sigh, pull my hair, kiss my mouth everywhere

With the same sweet line

What’s yours is mine

What’s yours is mine

But there’s such a fine line 

Between playing for keeps and living a lie

‘Cause what’s mine isn’t yours to be loved, then ignored

And I need more time

I need more time…

I let my eyes close and I’m surprised to feel tears sting the backs again, but it’s not just Grace or our inevitable break ups that are running through my mind up here now. It’s my brother, too. I’m singing one song, but now I’m thinking about the one I’m holding back. 

Last time I tried to sing about him, people talked over it and I almost lost it. I never tried again, even though every week I itch to – just to release him – as if it would actually release him from my thoughts. For some reason the musical strands of my relationship are prime fodder for public consumption. I can bleed up here over Grace and feel healed afterwards. But Micah is one open wound that my music can never close.

When I open my eyes, the first thing I see is the blond, swiping at her cheeks, looking from me to the floor. I stop, get up from the stool as the room erupts into a huge applause that leaves me speechless for a second. I have to force myself to voice my thanks back into the mic. I catch the girl’s eyes again. She’s definitely crying. 

BeckyAUTHOR BIO
Becky Wicks lives in Bali and scribbles books, and she’s mostly powered by coffee. Her first book in the Starstruck Series, Before He Was Famous recently reached #1 in Amazon’s Coming of Age and New Adult & College categories, and her three travel books, published by HarperCollins are online to make feet nice and itchy. Mostly though, she loves to write love stories. She blogs most days at beckywicks.com and always welcomes distractions on Twitter @bex_wicks. Especially if you have photos of cats.
Author links:
WhatsTheRush_twitter
Giveaway:
Tour-wide giveaway (INTL)
–Five copies of Before He Was A Secret, plus a character named after them in Becky’s next book!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One comment

Write something awesome!

