#BookSale and Author Interview: Safe & Sound, by Author T.S. Krupa.


SafeandSound Sale

 

9781599324654-Perfect.inddSAFE & SOUND: A NOVEL

T.S. KRUPA Author

When great love is lost forever, what does it take to find the courage to move on?

When Jill met Jay Greenfield she knew she had found her forever love. She was a kindergarten teacher, he was a high-powered attorney and their lives were perfect. But when a tragic accident takes Jay’s life, this young bride is left to pick up the pieces.

Jill finds herself a young widow facing multiple decisions she thought she had a lifetime to decide. With support from her childhood best friends, Lanie and Stella, Jill attempts to piece her life back together. With nightmares plaguing her dreams and the struggles of constant grief over Jay’s passing, Stella and Lanie keep near constant vigilance over her.

In the process of settling the estate, Jill learns that her husband was not quite the man she thought he was. She finds herself transported to the small beach town of Oak Island, North Carolina. But the fairy tale ending she envisioned no longer exists. She must face the reality that Jay is gone as she finds herself having a chance at love one more time.

Safe & Sound follows a yearlong journey of love, loss, friendship, and conquering the unexpected.

Read an excerpt of the book by clicking on this link: Safe & Sound Chapters 1-3.

AUTHOR Q&A

Where did the idea for Safe & Sound come from?

The idea came from a conversation that my husband and I had when we were creating our wills. Morbid I know but questions like: If someone was to pass early and the other person remarries where does that person get buried? We live in a state with no other family, so what if that person were to move, who would ever visit the deceased? The idea from Safe & Sound grew from those questions.

How did you start writing?

The idea of writing is a very daunting process for me. I tend to over think everything I do. Always thinking about how people will respond to the characters, the setting, the idea etc. It’s almost impossible to write with those limitations. Yet the idea would keep me up at night and I finally just had to sit down and put my thoughts on paper and block out the ‘other’ thoughts. When I started writing I didn’t know if the words would ever get published or anyone would ever read them besides me and that was freeing.

What is your writing process?

I need time and seclusion to write. I would often lock myself in our home office put my ear buds in and tune out everything around me. Music helps me a lot with writing, if I am writing a sad event I will listen to songs that mimic the feeling I am going for but once I get into the scene I’m writing I tend to zone everything out including the music.

Are your characters based on real people?

No. I could never write about a specific person in my life. I feel that I would censor myself too much in that process and not be able to create an honest character. The characters are fiction and exist only in my imagination.

Did you always want to write?

Yes and No. I have always loved writing ever since I was a little girl. My parent encouraged me to major in English and Writing in college but I was stubborn and said no. I studied Biology and Psychology instead. I really wanted writing to be a hobby and something I enjoyed. I feared studying it in college would take the fun out of it for me.

Where is your book set?

For me to write, I have to write from places I have been or visited. So it was natural for me to set the book where I currently live in North Carolina. In addition, this past summer we vacationed on Oak Island and I fell in love with everything about it, it gave me such a feeling of freedom. That is the same feeling I wanted my character to have when I started writing.

Which character is your favorite?

I love each of the characters for different reasons. Each of the female characters has a little bit of me in them. Stella is by far the most fun and sassy of the group. Lanie is stable, never wavering, and a little bit of a bookworm. Jill is faced with this unforeseen tragedy and her journey is not linear, it’s messy and emotional. I like that she isn’t always graceful about the situation she allows the grief to overcome her but in the end she finds a way to move forward. Harry was a surprise character, he wasn’t in my initial thoughts as I brainstormed the plot but once I started writing he became an important character especially his relation with Jill. Finally, Ross was meant to be the opposite of Jill but someone that she would connect to instantly. He was my version of a California surfer musician.

Do you believe in forever love, like that of your main characters?

Yes! Hopelessly.

Are any of the characters or locations in Safe & Sound rooted in your own past?

The characters are fiction and probably do have characteristics of a multitude of different people I have come across in my lifetime but no one person. The locations are very personal to me. In truth, this story was initially going to be set in Cape Cod, Massachusetts. I spent a good deal of time there as a child and loved my summers on the Cape. However, after vacationing in Oak Island in the summer of 2013 with friends and family I fell in love with the beaches, town, and location. It was shortly after this trip I finally was able to put words to my story and it only felt right about sending my main character there for her own journey.

TS Krupa Headshot 2_highresABOUT THE AUTHOR

T.S. KRUPA Author

T.S. Krupa was born in New Haven, Connecticut. Raised in a Polish household with a blended American culture, she is fluent in Polish. She graduated with her bachelor’s degree from Franklin Pierce University, where she also played field hockey. She earned her Master’s from Texas Tech University and recently graduated with her Doctor of Education from North Carolina State University in 2014. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and dog. Safe & Sound is her first novel.

CONTACT & LINKS

Email: tskrupa@yahoo.com
Phone: 336-794-6048
Website: http://www.tskrupa.com Publisher: http://www.advantagefamily.com

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TSKrupaAuthor
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/TS_Krupa
Goodreads (Author Page): http://www.goodreads.com/TSKrupa
Goodreads (Book Page): http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20256797-safe- sound

Amazon (Author Page): http://www.amazon.com/T.S.-Krupa/e/B00HNU1DBU/ BUY SAFE & SOUND (Paperback & eBook):

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Safe-Sound-Novel-T-S-Krupa/dp/1599324652
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/safe-sound-ts-krupa/1117797183 Books-a-Million: http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Safe-Sound/T-S- Krupa/9781599324654
Apple iBooks: itunes.apple.com/us/book/safe-sound/id804494919
Indiebound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781599324654

For more information about T.S. Krupa or to schedule an interview, please send an email to Brian at brian.shollenberger@yahoo.com

Write something awesome!

