#AuthorInterview with Author Jalpa Williby.


authorName Jalpa Williby

Can you briefly tell us something about yourself? During my day job, I work as a physical therapist. In the evenings, I’m a writer. I’m married with three kids. I also have two cats (Titan and Bella) and a dog (Mya). I’ve always been a huge reader, so one day, I challenged myself to write a novel. A year later, I’m now a published author! It’s all been very exciting. 

What have you written? I released my first novel, Chaysing Dreams, a year ago. The sequel, Chaysing Memories, was just released a few months ago. I am currently working on the final installment, Chaysing Destiny.

What is your favorite genre to write? Since I’ve only written the Chaysing Trilogy so far, I guess I really like writing Romance/Suspense. But I think these books are more than that. They’re about the growing pains, friendship, family, betrayals, and perseverance. There’s a bit of paranormal in there as well. Oh, and I’m a huge animal lover, so of course I had to make one of the main characters a dog. Just couldn’t resist. But, ultimately, it is a love story.

Where would you like to visit?  I’d like to eventually travel the world because I love learning about different cultures. But Australia has been sounding mighty fine lately. ☺

Favorite musical artist.  Do you listen to music when you write?  What? I love all types of music. There are some scenes that are totally motivated by the music. For example, my main hero also sings on the side. So, I’ve got him singing Beautiful by Christina Aquilera, Leave Out All The Rest by Linkin Park, A Drop In The Ocean by Ron Pope, and Need You Now by Lady Antebellum. The music really enhances these scenes.

Where do you get your inspiration? I’ve always had the craziest imagination, and I’ve always been a storyteller. My poor friends had to endure me telling them stories every night in our dorm rooms in college. But what inspires me? I think knowing that my book gives a bit of escape to readers out there really keeps me going. Reality can be harsh sometimes, so we all need some type of escape for our own sanity.

What do you do when you get a writer’s block? I don’t force myself to write through it. I just take a break first. When I’m ready, I place myself in the scene, use music to help if needed, and start typing- it may not come out right initially, but that’s ok. That can be fixed later. I just need to get the story down first.

Best books you’ve ever read. A Thousand Splendid Suns; Hunger Game Trilogy; Twilight Series; Water For Elephants; Racing In The Rain… yeah, I can go on and on.

Who has influenced your personal life the most and why? I’d have to say my patients collectively have influenced me the most on who I am today. In my day job, I’m a physical therapist. And truth be told, I’ve met some pretty amazing patients who teach me about life every day.

What advice would you give someone who aspired to be a writer?  Go for it. Life is too short. Don’t wait on the “right timing” because that’ll never happen. “Chayse” your dreams today! ☺

Any recognitions/awards? It’s all very exciting. Both Chaysing Dreams and Chaysing Memories received the five star seal from Readers’ Favorite. Also, both have been on the Amazon bestseller list several times (Chaysing Dreams was ranked #4, just three behind Stephen King’s novel). I’ve also earned the Book of the Month recognition by Authors’ Cave. And more recently, Chaysing Dreams is a finalist for three categories for Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards (Romance Suspense; Romance General; Fiction Chick Lit). Chaysing Memories is a finalist for two different categories (Romance Suspense, Fiction Military). It’s crazy, and I’m so honored to be a finalist with some very talented authors.

Any teasers you’d like to share?

Teaser for Chaysing Dreams:

I creep toward my window. Is something going on outside? I slowly peek out but I don’t notice anything unusual. I decide to get a better look. I deliberately pad across the carpet to get closer to the window, squinting to see if I notice anything suspicious.

That’s when he grabs me! I feel a strong arm grab me from behind and the other hand is on my mouth before I can scream. He’s holding a handkerchief against my mouth. I squirm and push at his arm to shove him off of me. But he’s too strong. I start to shake my head back and forth to try to free myself. I’m having difficulty focusing. I can’t think straight. Oh my god! He’s drugging me with the handkerchief covering my mouth and nose. I try to hold my breath as I struggle to push his hand away from me and get out of his hold. But it’s useless. He’s too strong. Somebody please help me! But nobody comes. Then, in a very low tone, I hear him say in my ear, “Sorry, sweetheart.”

I fade into darkness.

Teaser for Chaysing Memories:

I’m running. The gunshots are ringing in my ears. I have to try to escape. Somebody is telling me to run faster. It’s Chayse. Chayse is running behind me, saying not to stop. I’m suddenly trapped. Terrible men surround me and begin circling me. I look at Chayse for help. But he looks different. His eyes are dark and empty. He doesn’t recognize me. He slowly walks toward me.

“Chayse?” I whisper. He laughs, a cruel, horrible laugh that sends chills down my spine. He grabs my hair and pulls it so that my neck falls back.

“I told you I had a dark side. You just didn’t want to believe me. Now look at you—trapped and nowhere to go.” He laughs again, louder.

Anything else you’d like to add? Thank you for having me. I’d also like to thank all the wonderful readers out there for their support as well as all the wonderful authors for their wisdom.

Where to find me:

Amazon Link for Chaysing Dreams: http://www.amazon.com/Chaysing-Dreams-Jalpa-Williby/dp/1478703091

Amazon Link for Chaysing Memories: http://www.amazon.com/Chaysing-Memories-Book-Jalpa-Williby/dp/1478729139/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_y

FB Link: https://www.facebook.com/ChaysingDreamsNovel

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JalpaWilliby

My website: www.jalpawilliby.com

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Jalpa-Williby/e/B00EN2ZDCQ/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/114048151412416203849/posts

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jalpaw/

2 comments

Write something awesome!

