Book Blitz and Giveaway: A Midsummer Night’s Fling, by Beth Matthews.


AMidsummerNightsFlingBlitzBanner
A Midsummer Night’s Fling by Beth Matthews
(Stage Kiss Series #1)
Publication date: June 2014
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

MidsummerCoverSynopsis:

After dating her childhood sweetheart Max on and off for years, aspiring actress Nicola Charles is finally ready to move on. It’s time for her to focus on her stage career and stay away from Max–before he can break her heart again.

Max regrets hurting Nicola, but he wants another chance. So when his play loses its leading lady, giving Nicola the part seems like the perfect opportunity to win back his old flame.

But the course of true love—and a theater production—never do run smooth. As Max fights to reignite Nicola’s love, the onstage antics can’t rival the bedlam backstage: a neurotic cast, a prickly crew, and an evil diva of a director who’s got designs on Max.

As Nicola and Max battle to keep the drama onstage, Max can’t help wondering if their romance will end with the last performance. Or have the two of them finally captured what they’ve dreamed of all their lives? True Love.

A contemporary romance that should appeal to fans of the wry humor and playful sexiness in the works of Julie James and Victoria Dahl.

 
INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR

This is your third book, but your first contemporary romance. What made you decide to switch genres?

I feel like the romance genre experienced a bit of a Renaissance in contemporary romance a few years ago, and when I read those books I knew I had to write my own. Victoria Dahl and Julie James, for example, were two of my biggest inspirations when I wrote my own contemporaries because their books are smart, sexy, and hilarious. Jennifer Crusie, too. Nothing’s better than a Jennifer Crusie romantic comedy. These days I like bouncing back and forth between fantasy and contemporary romance to keep my brain agile. 😉

Please tell us about the characters in your new book, A Midsummer Night’s Fling.

Max and Nicola were childhood sweethearts, but Max was a bit of a party boy and that drove them apart. But now they’re back together working on a play and neither one of them is sure they can resist their attraction. Max is a tender-hearted hunk who doubts his own abilities. Nicola is a wary but passionate actress searching for her big break.

This book is set at a successful theater company in Southern California. That’s an interesting location for a romance. Did you do a lot of research on working in the theater?

I was an actor myself in my misspent youth, but I’m also lucky because I have some contacts that are still in the industry who were willing to let me pick their brains. One actor in particular, Thomas Ashworth, was really invaluable. I went to a play he was in and afterwards he persuaded the whole cast basically to line up and let me interview them. That was a very cool day!

So, you write books with actor heroes, who is your favorite actor in real life?

At the moment I am torn between Tom Hiddleston who is just gorgeous and has Talent oozing out of his beautiful pores, and Chris Pratt who is so endearing and simply adork-able. I’m leaning towards Pratt because have you seen those new pictures of him from Jurassic World?! Yum-my.

It is difficult to choose between hot, talented men isn’t it? Speaking of hot men, what is your next project, and when will it be released?

Right now I’m polishing up a contemporary New Adult romance, Love’s Last Call, for release later this year. It’s about a dorky bouncer and the cocktail waitress he’s sure is out of his league. If people want to learn more they can check out the book’s info-page on my website.

 
headshots-004-cropped2AUTHOR BIO
Beth Matthews is a California girl, born and raised. She’s a total geek, a movie buff, and a mediocre swing dancer. She lives in sunny SoCal with her boyfriend and two of the neediest housecats on the planet.
Author links:
GIVEAWAY

Enter the giveaway for one (1) ebook copy of A Midsummer Night’s Fling. Open internationally. Have you ever have a summer fling? Tell me about it in a comment and I will choose a winner from the funniest replies. Your prize will be sent out after September 4th.

Write something awesome!

